Louisiana Driver's License

Your Ticket to Passing the DMV Exam and Driving Test the 1st Time!

Prepare for your Louisiana written driver's license test and road skills test online! We offer a MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Complete our prep courses and you'll pass your road test and written exam the first time or we'll refund your money for the cost of the course!

Get your Louisiana Driver's License

Louisiana Learner's Permit

In Louisiana, you must be at least 15 years old to receive your learners permit. Your Learner's Permit is considered Stage 1 of the Louisiana Graduated License Law and requires successful completion of an approved driver education course. You must complete 50 hours of supervised driving (15 for nighttime driving) in order to be eligible for Stage 2, which is the Restricted License. All new drivers are also required to take a written Road Rules and Road Signs knowledge test which contains questions on Louisiana traffic laws, road signs and rules of safe driving. At Stage 2, after you have held your Learner's Permit for six months you are eligible to take your road test when you are at least 16 years of age.

Prepare for your Driver's License Knowledge Exam Online!

Some states have almost 50,000 new drivers failing their test each year. It is highly recommended to go to the drivers license office "over prepared". Save yourself both Time and Money...Test your driving knowledge with an online prep course.

  • Special Offer! SAVE $3 on New Driver Prep Courses
    Enter Coupon: DMV3
  • DMV Practice TestBuy NowOnly $19.95
  • "Behind the Wheel"Buy NowOnly $29.95
  • Get Both and SAVE!Buy NowOnly $29.95
  • SAVE $10 on New Driver Package for only $29.95
    Limited Time... Save an additional $3.00!
    Offer Expires Dec 16th - Enter Coupon: DMV3

Louisiana Road Test Requirements

The road test will last approximately 20 to 30 minutes. Your ability to drive your vehicle safely in a variety of traffic situations will be tested. An Louisiana DSS driver license examiner will administer the road test and you will need to supply your own vehicle. Before taking you out on the road the examiner will check to see if the car you are driving has a current registration and proof of vehicle insurance.

Make Pass your Driving Test Fast & Easy!

Before you get out on your own with the examiner, learn the important driving skills you will be tested on to receive your driver's license!

  • Special Offer! SAVE $3 on New Driver Prep Courses
    Enter Coupon: DMV3
  • DMV Practice TestBuy NowOnly $19.95
  • "Behind the Wheel"Buy NowOnly $29.95
  • Get Both and SAVE!Buy NowOnly $29.95
  • SAVE $10 on New Driver Package for only $29.95
    Limited Time... Save an additional $3.00!
    Offer Expires Dec 16th - Enter Coupon: DMV3

With the Behind the Wheel Road Test Course you'll receive a complete Vehicle Inspection and Driving Skills Checklist to use prior to leaving for your exam.

Louisiana Road Test Maneuvers

Think you're ready for your driving test? Learn how to safely perform all 12 driving manuevers you'll be tested on before you go to the drivers license office. It's 100% Online...Practice the road test as many times as you need to!

  • Special Offer! SAVE $3 on New Driver Prep Courses
    Enter Coupon: DMV3
  • DMV Practice TestBuy NowOnly $19.95
  • "Behind the Wheel"Buy NowOnly $29.95
  • Get Both and SAVE!Buy NowOnly $29.95
  • SAVE $10 on New Driver Package for only $29.95
    Limited Time... Save an additional $3.00!
    Offer Expires Dec 16th - Enter Coupon: DMV3

Be prepared to perform the following maneuvers during your Louisiana road test:

  • Perform safe Left and Right Turns, as well as Three Point Turns
  • Proper Signaling for lane change and parking
  • Lane Usage, Right-of-way and Overall Vehicle Control
  • Backing of vehicle and making quick stops
  • Parking of the Vehicle between cars

You'll receive a Driving Maneuvers Checklist with the road test course. We suggest you also review the Louisiana Driver Manual.

Driver's License Documentation Requirements

Before you head to the Louisiana DSS Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your driver's license: Acceptable Forms of Identification to apply for an Louisiana License

Scheduling Your Road Test Appointment

You can contact the Louisiana.gov for hours and driving skills test scheduling through a 3rd party tester to receive your license.

If you happen to fail the test, and need to reschedule, most offices require you to wait at least one week before you retake your test.

Louisiana GDL

Louisiana, like most states have a three-stage licensing system in order to lessen the number of teen drivers involved in crashes. By gradually introducing novice drivers into driving in lower-risk conditions, teen drivers gain more behind-the-wheel experience before they get an unrestricted driver’s license.

Stage 1: Learner's Permit

An applicant must be at least 15 years old to apply for a Louisiana learner's permit. The holding period for a driving permit is 6 months. During this time, the licensee must complete 35 hours of supervised driving.

Stage 2: Restricted License

The minimum age for a restricted license is 16 years old. The nighttime driving restriction during this phase is not being allowed to drive between the hours of 11 PM to 5 AM.

Stage 3: Unrestricted/Regular License

The minimum age for a full unrestricted driver’s license in Louisiana is 18 years old.

Permit holders may only drive while accompanied by a licensed driver over 21 years old.

Louisiana GDL Guide

Not Registered?

Online Prep Tests Behind the Wheel
Drivers License Practice Test

"My parents thought I needed more practice before I went to get my driver's license, so they registered me for this prep course. I was so thankful because I didn't realize all of the questions I'd be asked just to get my license. I passed my first try because of the course."

- S. McClain