Kansas Driver's License

Your Ticket to Passing the DMV Exam and Driving Test the 1st Time!

Prepare for your Kansas written driver's license test and road skills test online! We offer a MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Complete our prep courses and you'll pass your road test and written exam the first time or we'll refund your money for the cost of the course!

Get your Kansas Driver's License

Kansas Learner's Permit

In Kansas, you must be at least 14 years old to get your learners permit. Your Driving Permit is considered Stage 1 of the Kansas Graduated License Law and requires successful completion of an approved driver education course. You must complete 25 hours of supervised driving during your learners license phase and 25 hours before the age of 16 (10 for nighttime driving) in order to be eligible for Stage 2, which is the Restricted License. All new drivers are also required to take a written Road Rules and Road Signs knowledge test which contains questions on Kansas traffic laws, road signs and rules of safe driving. At Stage 2, after you have held your Instruction Permit for 12 months months you are eligible to take your road test when you are at least 16 years of age.

Prepare for your Driver's License Knowledge Exam Online!

Some states have almost 50,000 new drivers failing their test each year. It is highly recommended to go to the drivers license office "over prepared". Save yourself both Time and Money...Test your driving knowledge with an online prep course.

  • Special Offer! SAVE $3 on New Driver Prep Courses
    Enter Coupon: DMV3
  • DMV Practice TestBuy NowOnly $19.95
  • "Behind the Wheel"Buy NowOnly $29.95
  • Get Both and SAVE!Buy NowOnly $29.95
  • SAVE $10 on New Driver Package for only $29.95
    Limited Time... Save an additional $3.00!
    Offer Expires Apr 16th - Enter Coupon: DMV3

Kansas Road Test Requirements

The road test will last approximately 20 to 30 minutes. Your ability to drive your vehicle safely in a variety of traffic situations will be tested. The driving test will be given only after the vision and knowledge tests have been passed. You must furnish the vehicle in which the driving test is conducted. The vehicle must be representative of the class of license for which you are applying. Your vehicle will be safety checked and you must produce evidence of liability insurance before the driver test is given.

Make Pass your Driving Test Fast & Easy!

Before you get out on your own with the examiner, learn the important driving skills you will be tested on to receive your driver's license!

  • Special Offer! SAVE $3 on New Driver Prep Courses
    Enter Coupon: DMV3
  • DMV Practice TestBuy NowOnly $19.95
  • "Behind the Wheel"Buy NowOnly $29.95
  • Get Both and SAVE!Buy NowOnly $29.95
  • SAVE $10 on New Driver Package for only $29.95
    Limited Time... Save an additional $3.00!
    Offer Expires Apr 16th - Enter Coupon: DMV3

With the Behind the Wheel Road Test Course you'll receive a complete Vehicle Inspection and Driving Skills Checklist to use prior to leaving for your exam.

Kansas Road Test Maneuvers

Think you're ready for your driving test? Learn how to safely perform all 12 driving manuevers you'll be tested on before you go to the drivers license office. It's 100% Online...Practice the road test as many times as you need to!

  • Special Offer! SAVE $3 on New Driver Prep Courses
    Enter Coupon: DMV3
  • DMV Practice TestBuy NowOnly $19.95
  • "Behind the Wheel"Buy NowOnly $29.95
  • Get Both and SAVE!Buy NowOnly $29.95
  • SAVE $10 on New Driver Package for only $29.95
    Limited Time... Save an additional $3.00!
    Offer Expires Apr 16th - Enter Coupon: DMV3

Be prepared to perform the following maneuvers during your Kansas road test:

  • Perform safe Left and Right Turns, as well as Three Point Turns
  • Proper Signaling for lane change and parking
  • Lane Usage, Right-of-way, Intersection Approach and Overall Vehicle Control
  • Backing of vehicle and making quick stops
  • Parking of the Vehicle (possibly Parallel Parking)

You'll receive a Driving Maneuvers Checklist with the road test course. We suggest you also review the Kansas Driver Manual

Driver's License Documentation Requirements

Before you head to the Kansas DV Office, make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your driver's license: Acceptable Forms of Identification to apply for an Kansas License

Scheduling Your Road Test Appointment

You can contact the Kansas Department of Revenue to schedule your road skills test. If you happen to fail the test, and need to reschedule, most driver's license offices require you to wait at least one week before you retake your test.

Kansas GDL

The Kansas Graduated Driver License program is unique in a way that it has two different permit phases: either farm or instruction. Here are the stages for the Kansas GDL:

Stage 1: Farm/Instruction Permit

A licensee must be at least 14 years old to apply for either a farm permit or an instruction permit. The minor difference between the two is for someone to be eligible for a farm permit, they must either reside in farm land or is employed for compensation on a farm. The permit must be held for a period of 12 months. During this time, the licensee must complete 25 hours of supervised driving --- 10 of which should be for nighttime driving.

Stage 2: Restricted License

The minimum age for a restricted license is 15 years old. The nighttime restriction during this phase is not being allowed to drive between the hours of 9 PM to 5 AM. For the first 6 months, the licensee is not allowed to have more than one passenger under the age of 18.

Stage 3: Full License

The minimum age for a full license in Kansas is 17 years old.

Drivers aged 15 but not yet 16 may be granted a restricted license if they have completed driver training. Restricted license holders younger than 16 may not drive unless supervised other than to and from school or work via the most direct route and may not carry minor passengers other than siblings. To get a restricted license, applicants must have driven at least 25 of the 50 hours required for a full license and must have held an instruction permit for 12 months.

Kansas GDL Guide: http://www.kansasgdl.org/

Not Registered?

Online Prep Tests Behind the Wheel
Drivers License Practice Test

"My parents thought I needed more practice before I went to get my driver's license, so they registered me for this prep course. I was so thankful because I didn't realize all of the questions I'd be asked just to get my license. I passed my first try because of the course."

- S. McClain